Luna 1878 @ Queen Victoria Market

The Luna 1878 Night Market is held every Wednesday evening (5PM – 10PM) of August at the Queen Victoria Market. I wish I had known this earlier… instead, I somehow, mysteriously stumbled upon it the day before the last Wednesday of August. Such a bittersweet moment. As a result of my oblivion, I couldn’t blog about it earlier and tell you guys about this wonderful event (I’m sorry! There’s always next year!). ANYWAY, the market celebrates the vibrancy and culture of music, food and fashion. It’s such a lively event, highly recommended!

IMG_2567IMG_2568

Hungarian Street Food
IMG_2571IMG_2574IMG_2577IMG_2579
Goulash from the Cauldron w/ Langos (Entree $7) – This dish was awesome; authentic homely and comfortable food, you could really taste the love! The meat was tender and just melted in your mouth. The langos was chewy with a combination of sweet and savoury flavours. 8.5/10!
IMG_2581IMG_2582

Polish Food by the Eastern Bloc Catering
IMG_2583IMG_2590IMG_2592IMG_2593
Pierogi Polish Dumplings (5 pieces for $10) – traditional Polish Pierogi filled with mashed potato, cheese and onion, topped with bacon and dill-infused sour cream. A.T and I absolutely loved the dumplings. It was beautifully cooked, the skin wasn’t too thick and had a nice crispiness to it. The filling was so creamy and light, and with the sour cream, it was a match made in heaven. Thinking about it has got me salivating, no wonder this is their signature dish! I wish there was more of the sauce and bacon though! 9/10!
IMG_2595

Spanish Food by the Spanish Gourmet Caterers
IMG_2596IMG_2599IMG_2601IMG_2598
Suquet de Mariscos ($12) – stew w/ a variety of seafood and merluza fish and couscous. There are mixed reviews between A.T and I with this one. A.T really enjoyed it while I thought it was average. The stew by itself was quite salty, however eating it with the couscous helps balance that saltiness. I thought there were more peas than anything, wish there was more seafood (even though the seafood was not fresh but frozen)! I didn’t like how there were so many bones in the merluza fish and I don’t know, I found it boring. There was no strong flavour to make an impact. 5/10!
IMG_2604IMG_2605

Meatballs by The Meatball Company
IMG_2607IMG_2606IMG_2611IMG_2610
Smashed Ball Slider ($7) – smashed chicken ball w/ bacon & smokey BBQ sauce on a mini brioche bun, served w/ seasoned fries. I’ve tried meatballs before at the Suzuki Summer Night Market and they were delicious, but this was such a disappointing feed. The seasoning of the chips was flavoursome but the chips were not hot and fresh. Actually, nothing on that plate tasted fresh. They ran out of lettuce so everything tasted very dry, the meatball was bland as well. The brioche bun was quite nice and sweet but that was about it. 3.5/10!
IMG_2615IMG_2612

Dessert by The Waffle Club
IMG_2616IMG_2618
Belgian Liege Waffle w/ nutella, strawberries & vanilla ice-cream ($4 + $0.50c + $1.50 + $1.50 = $7.50) – my waffle was made nice and thick… and very crunchy! However, it was a bit doughy in the middle and tasted slightly undercooked. They were very scarce with the icecream on my plate compared to A.T’s which was disappointing because I really enjoyed it. 6.5/10!
IMG_2620IMG_2625
Belgian Liege Waffle w/ almond flakes, whipped cream, strawberries & vanilla ice-cream ($4 + $0.50c + $0.50c + $1.50 + $1.50 = $8.00)
IMG_2623IMG_2624

Popcorn by the Steel Drum Popcorn Co.
Popcorn (cup for $2) – the popcorn tasted healthy but sweet! I’m assuming it’s because they use cane sugar. Great snack to munch on as a way to end the night. 🙂
IMG_2626IMG_2627

A.T and I have established a rule of thumb when it comes to markets and festivals like these: it can only be fully appreciated to its entirety over the span of 3 days/visits. There were just so many different cuisines that we wanted to try and didn’t have enough time to do so (especially with the massive lines! We had to wait up to 30 minutes for each food). I will not make the same mistake twice, especially when the Suzuki Night Market is just around the corner!

Oh! And I cannot forget to credit my amazing photographer for the night, A.T. He did a way better job than I ever could at taking these photos, so thanks matey 🙂

From Your Weekly Foodie,
– T

Leave a Reply

